Open Accessibility Menu

Butler Health System awarded HFAP Stroke Center Certification

  • Category: News
  • Posted On:

Butler, PA – July 3, 2018 – Butler Health System was awarded stroke Center certification by HFAP, the nation’s original independent, accreditation organization recognized by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). Certification confirms that Butler Health System is providing high quality care as determined by an independent, external process of evaluation.

“Butler Health System clearly demonstrates a commitment to quality and patient safety,” said Lawrence Haspel, DO, Chairman of the Bureau of Healthcare Facilities Accreditation for HFAP. “We base our decision on the findings of an extensive and thorough on-site review of Butler Memorial Hospital against recognized national standards for patient safety, quality improvement, and environmental safety. Butler Memorial Hospital has earned the distinction of HFAP certification through its performance in successfully meeting those standards.”

“We’re proud to achieve this prestigious certification,” said Ken DeFurio, CEO/President, Butler Health System. “Earning HFAP certification is a significant achievement that recognizes our commitment to providing outstanding care to our patients and our community. In fact, quality is consistently the priority focus in our strategic plans and goals.”

Butler Health System – Caring Hands. Remarkable Minds

For nearly 120 years, Butler Health System’s flagship, Butler Memorial Hospital has maintained its independence and has continued to grow to meet the needs of a 7-county region. The 296 bed hospital, along with numerous outpatient locations for lab, imaging, cardiology testing, and over 50 primary and specialty physician offices throughout Butler, Armstrong, Clarion, Indiana, Lawrence, Mercer and Venango counties comprise Butler Health System.

For more information, visit

About HFAP:
HFAP is a nationally recognized not-for-profit accreditation organization with deeming authority from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Originally created in 1945, HFAP is the original healthcare accrediting body in the United States. HFAP accreditation is recognized by the federal government, state governments, managed care organizations, and insurance companies.

In 2015, the Accreditation Association for Hospitals/Health Systems (AAHHS), acquired and assumed management of HFAP’s range of accreditation and specialty certification programs. For more information about these programs, visit